My first (and definitely not the last) GUADEC!

Hey folks!

I recently attended GNOME Users and Developers European Conference (GUADEC) 2017 held in Manchester, UK. It was my first time in the UK and my first time at a conference and needless to say, I had a wonderful time.

Core Conference Days

The core conference days were held at the Brooks Building in Manchester Metropolitan University. I attended a lot of great talks. Some of the talks I found helpful were-

  • History of GNOME by Jonathan Blandford
  • GNOME Build Strategies and BuildStream by Tristan Van Berkom
  • On mice, touchpads and other rodents by Peter Hutterer

I gave a lighting intern talk presenting my GSoC project – Adding recurring events support to GNOME Calendar. My talk was accompanied by a live demonstration too!

IMG_20170729_142019.jpg

Unconference Days

The Unconference days were held at the Shed (MMU). There I took part in various workshops and Birds of Feather (BoF) sessions. I had a sit-down with my mentor, Georges Stavacras, and we discovered and fixed (not all) quite a lot of bugs in GNOME Calendar.

Social Events

20170729_204433.jpg

Lots of social events and fun activities were organised. The GNOME 20th Anniversary party was one of the best parties I’ve been to yet. The decorations and ambiance were one of a kind. The newcomers dinner was also very engaging. We also played indoor football at the MMU sports hall and lots of other fun games. And let’s not forget all the local pubs we visited throughout the conference. We also had a walking tour of Manchester which was very informative.

 

IMG_20170802_161648.jpg

IMG_20170802_171646.jpg

The Peak District Hike was an altogether different experience. We went on a 9km Trek on Loose Hill. The trek was so scenic and beautiful! I sincerely thank Allan Day for organizing and leading that awesome trek.

 

IMG_20170801_205906.jpg

I was also a part of the volunteering team and made lots of friends on the team. The ‘hosts’ from Codethink were a very friendly bunch of people with whom I had a great time. Kudos to Sam Thursfield who took me rock climbing to the Manchester Climbing Centre.

 

It was really exciting to finally meet the GNOME contributors that I had previously chatted with online. Meeting my mentor Georges was really fun. I thank him for the work he’s put in mentoring my GSoC project.

I would like to thank the GNOME Foundation for sponsoring me to attend GUADEC. It would not have been possible for me to attend the event without the financial aid provided by the GUADEC travel committee.  Thank you all the organisers, volunteers and attendees for making this year’s GUADEC successful. See you next year at Almeria!

sponsored-badge-simple.png

4 thoughts on “My first (and definitely not the last) GUADEC!

Add yours

  1. Hi! It was nice to meet you at the conference!
    Small name mixup in your post: The history talk was given by Jonathan Blandford.
    See you next year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

